05 Aug 2014

The concept of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is simple – any young person aged between 14 and 24 can take part in a programme at one of three progressive levels which, when successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

There are four sections at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold. Participants select and set objectives in each of the following areas:

Volunteering: Undertaking service to individuals or the community.
Physical: Improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activity.
Skills: Developing practical and social skills and personal interests.
Expedition: Planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad.
At Gold level, participants also take part in a Residential section, which involves staying away from home with new people and taking part in a shared activity or course.
There are DofE opportunities right across Wales with over 600 groups offering programmes in both English and Welsh. Taking part can be a life changing experience for a young person helping them to achieve their full potential though the development of personal and social skills.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award
Market House
Market Approach

01874 623086


About the Author