09 Jan 2018

The Secretary of State has announced the appointment of 10 members to the Youth Justice Board for England and Wales.

Ben Byrne, Gillian Fairfield, Keith Fraser, Sharon Gray, Neal Hazel, Mairead Healy, Neil Rhodes, Bryan Tytherleigh and Alan Wood have been appointed as members, and Keith Towler who has been appointed as member with experience of the youth justice system in Wales, of the Youth Justice Board (YJB) to England and Wales. The appointments are from 1 January 2018 for tenures of 3 and 4 years.

Keith was the Children’s Commissioner for Wales from 2008-15, and, since then, acts as an independent consultant for children and young people’s rights. Keith is Vice Chair of the National Independent Safeguarding Board for Wales and Chairs CWVYS, the Council for Wales of Voluntary Youth Services. He was a member of the International Play Association Working Group which assisted the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, as well as the Family Justice Review.


Appointments to the Youth Justice Board are made under the Act by the Secretary of State for Justice and are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments (CPA).

Charlie Taylor, Chair of the Youth Justice Board said:

I am delighted at the appointment of such a talented group of people to the YJB’s board, who bring with them a wealth of experience of working with children across a range of organisations.

I would like to thank the outgoing board members for their hard work and dedication. I look forward to working closely with my new colleagues on reform which has a positive and meaningful impact on children in the youth justice system.

About the Author

Leave a Reply


captcha *